04
Sep
2019

Astrophysics: visit to a working observatory in Sauvery, Versoix

04-09-2019 14:00 -16:00
Astrophysics: visit to a working observatory in Sauvery, Versoix

Tour in English:

  • The standard tour /explanation of the workings of observatory
  • A review of the types of jobs at the observatory and topics to study at school
    to work/research in that area
  • Some recent topics in the news dealing with astronomy
  • A question answer session with a 'snack'

We are no longer accepting registration for this event

19
Jun
2019

Visit to the Blue Brain Project in Geneva

19-06-2019 14:00 -16:00

blue brain logoThe aim of the Blue Brain Project, a Swiss brain initiative founded and directed by Professor Henry Markram, is to build accurate, biologically detailed digital reconstructions and simulations of the rodent brain, and ultimately, the human brain. The supercomputer-based reconstructions and simulations built by Blue Brain offer a radically new approach for understanding the multilevel structure and function of the brain.

http://bluebrain.epfl.ch

We are no longer accepting registration for this event

29
May
2019

Virtual Reality workshop 2019

29-05-2019 14:00 -15:00
Virtual Reality workshop 2019

Virtual reality is the next big technology wave. It will be the innovative business ideas in the next few years and it will become an everyday tool in the sectors of education, military, video games, live events, real estate, healthcare, interactive desktop applications, social VR, project collaboration and engineering.  We have teamed an innovative VR developer in Carouge, Geneva to offer an opportunity to experience and understand the development of this new exciting technology.  Join us at Virtual Room Genève for the experience of a lifetime and an explanation of the technology behind virtual reality.

We are no longer accepting registration for this event

23
Mar
2019

CERN visit

23-03-2019 9:00 -11:30
CERN visit

Underground experiment in Cessy

This visit covers a broad physics programme. The Compact Muon Solenoid (CMS) is a general-purpose detector at the Large Hadron Collider (LHC). The CMS experiment is one of the largest international scientific collaborations in history, involving 4300 particle physicists, engineers, technicians, students and support staff from 182 institutes in 42 countries.

Location: Cessy, France.

Sorry, the event is now full and we could not accept more registration

09
Mar
2019

Natural History Museum, guided tour

09-03-2019 10:00 -12:30
 Natural History Museum, guided tour

National History Museum Geneva (Private guided tour)

Every year we choose one of the exhibitions at the Natural History Museum to have a private tour. Join us this year as Chloë gives a guided tour of its permanent exhibition filled with the wonders of the world on the first floor of the Museum. We will focus on evolution and more specifically natural selection to understand how tigers, kiwis, brown bears, marsupials as well as other exotic birds and mammals adapted to their respective environments.

We are no longer accepting registration for this event

04
Sep
2019

Astrophysique : la visite à un observatoire en activité à Sauvery, Versoix

04-09-2019 14:00 -16:00
Astrophysique : la visite à un observatoire en activité à Sauvery, Versoix

Tour en français

  • Le tour standard/explications du fonctionnement de l'observatoire
  • Une revue des types d’emplois à l’observatoire et des sujets à étudier à l’école pour travailler / faire de la recherche dans ce domaine
  • Quelques sujets d'actualité au sujet de l'astronomie
  • Une séance de questions/réponse avec un goûter

We are no longer accepting registration for this event

19
Jui
2019

Visite Blue Brain Project, Genève

19-06-2019 14:00 -16:00

blue brain logoLe Blue Brain Project, une initiative suisse sur le cerveau fondée et dirigée par le professeur Henry Markram, a pour objectif de construire des reconstructions et des simulations numériques précises et biologiquement détaillées du cerveau des rongeurs et, par la suite, du cerveau humain. L'utilisation des superordinateurs pour ces reconstructions et simulations offrent une approche radicalement nouvelle pour comprendre la structure et la fonction du cerveau à plusieurs niveaux.

http://bluebrain.epfl.ch

 

We are no longer accepting registration for this event

29
Mai
2019

Virtual Reality workshop 2019

29-05-2019 14:00 -15:00
Virtual Reality workshop 2019

La réalité virtuelle est la prochaine grande vague technologique. Ce seront les idées commerciales novatrices des prochaines années et un outil du quotidien dans les secteurs de l’éducation, de l’armement, des jeux vidéo, des événements en direct, de l’immobilier, des soins de santé, des applications de bureau interactives, de la collaboration en matière de projets et de l’ingénierie. Nous avons contacté un développeur VR innovant à Carouge, à Genève, afin de vous permettre de tester le développement de cette nouvelle technologie passionnante et de la comprendre. Rejoignez-nous à Virtual Room Genève pour une expérience incroyable et une explication de la technologie derrière la réalité virtuelle.

We are no longer accepting registration for this event

23
Mar
2019

Visite du CERN 2019

23-03-2019 9:00 -11:30
 Visite du CERN 2019

Expérience souterraine à Cessy

La visite couvre un large éventail de domaines de la physique. Le Solénoïde compact pour muons (CMS) est un détecteur polyvalent installé sur l’anneau du LHC. L’expérience CMS est l’une des plus grandes collaborations scientifiques internationales qui ait jamais existé. Elle compte en effet 4300 physiciens des particules, ingénieurs, techniciens, étudiants et personnes chargées de l’appui représentant 179 universités et instituts de 41 pays

Adresse : Cessy, France.

Sorry, the event is now full and we could not accept more registration

09
Mar
2019

Muséum d'histoire naturelle, visite guidée

09-03-2019 10:00 -12:30
 Muséum d'histoire naturelle, visite guidée

Muséum d'histoire naturelle (visite guidée privée)

Chaque année, nous choisissons l'une des expositions du Musée d'histoire naturelle pour une visite privée. Rejoignez-nous cette année pour une visite guidée par Chloé de l'exposition permanente au premier étage, remplie de merveilles du monde. Nous nous concentrerons sur l'évolution et plus spécifiquement sur la sélection naturelle pour comprendre comment les tigres, les kiwis, les ours bruns, les marsupiaux ainsi que d'autres oiseaux et mammifères exotiques se sont adaptés à leurs environnements respectifs.

We are no longer accepting registration for this event